Association canadienne des programmes en administration publique

Prix Étudiants nationaux et leadership éclairé 2020: gagnants

January 14, 2021

The Canadian Association of Programs in Public Administration (CAPPA) and the Institute of Public Administration in Canada (IPAC) are pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 National Student and Thought Leadership Awards!

The National Student and Thought Leadership Awards in Public Administration, a joint initiative of CAPPA and IPAC, is a set of two awards that recognize talent in Canadian public administration and policy programs at the regional and national levels. It highlights excellence in public administration and showcases the top talent emerging from Canadian programs each year.  The five recipients of the National Student Award for 2020 were nominated by their programs in Public Administration, Public Policy, or Public Management in recognition of their overall program and leadership contributions, outstanding research, or excellent capstone or thesis work undertaken during the 2019-20 year.

The National Thought Leadership Awards recognize excellence in research that pushes boundaries. This year’s winners are:

Gold: Colin Bowbrick, Simon Fraser University “War on Drug Resistance : Policy Interventions to Tackle Antibiotic Misuse in Canada”

Silver:  Jennifer Lai, York University “The Accessibility of Elections to Canadians with Cognitive Disabilities”

Bronze:  Gonzalo Agrimbau, Universities of Manitoba and Winnipeg “Natural Infrastructure Investments: from science to implementation”

Presentations by all five winners of the National Student Award will be viewable online at the website in the coming weeks:

Gonzalo Agrimbau, Universities of Manitoba and Winnipeg

Marilyn Blanchette, University of Ottawa

Colin Bowbrick, Simon Fraser University

Jennifer Lai, York University

Eriole Zita Nonki Tadida, Laval University

Thank you to the members of the Award Jury, Dr. Patrice Dutil, Dr. Brooke Jeffrey, and Professor Gilles Levasseur, for their time and service to the public administration community. Belle Young at the University of Victoria coordinated applications and award logistics, for which we thank her.

Thank you also to the programs, departments, and schools who nominated talented students for these awards.  We encourage you to participate in next year’s National Student and Thought Leadership Award process, and look for the call for nominations in Spring 2021.

For any questions about this award, please contact Dr. Andrea Rounce, Past President, CAPPA at andrea.rounce@u