2024 Case Competition

Phoenix Rising… Again?
Taking Control of Federal Procurement

2024 National Public Administration Student Case Competition

The 2023 National Public Administration Case Competition was hosted by Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy and held virtually on February 14 to 24, 2024. The case concerned contracting problems.

The case presented will require teams to go through the stages of case study review:

  • The overall policy and operational effects of this series of events to define the problem and issues.
  • The risks inherent in responding and in not responding.
  • Strategic options with preferred approach.
  • Suggestions for the process for moving towards the strategic approach.
  • Implementation issues and suggested course of action (including financial implications).
  • Issues related to communication, collaboration, stakeholders, and suggested courses of action.
  1. The main “rules & procedures” document
  2. Case study 2024


The competition was judged by:

  • Mark MacDonald: Head judge, Partner – EY
  • Patrick Comtois: Director General of Enterprise IT Procurement at Shared Services Canada (SSC)
  • Michele McCutcheon: Director of the Benefits Delivery Modernization Procurement Directorate in the Procurement Branch at Public Services and Procurement Canada
  • Ron Morrow: Executive Director – Supervision — at the Bank of Canada
  • Donna Smith: Director of evaluation at Employment and Social Development Canada (ESDC)
  • Philippe Thompson: Chief Finance, Results and Delivery Officer at Indigenous Services Canada

Thank you to all of the judges for sharing their experience, wisdom, and time with the students and their coaches!

The Teams

Twelve teams from coast to coast participated in the 2024 Case Competition.

Scroll down to see photos of all of the participating teams and their presentation!

Winning Team Presentations:

Gold Medal :
Queen’s University

Thomas Goyer
Sarah Homsi
George Melika-Abusefien
Kokul Sathiyapalan
Sally Twin

Andy Hu
Eugene Lang

Silver Medal :
Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy

Jade Anderson
Angèle Poirier
Josh Saskiw
Harjot Singh Tur
Taige Sun

Nancy Carlson
Cloten Goertz

Bronze Medal :
University of Toronto

Joud Bayeh
Alexander Carter
Manvir Mangat
Peter Jiang
Megan Tran

Drew Fagan
Brian Lewis

Teams presentations

Case 01: Carleton University

Case 02: University of Toronto (3rd place winners)

Case 03: Dalhousie University

Case 04: ENAP

Case 05: Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy (2nd place winners)

Case 06: York University

Case 07: Toronto Metropolitain University

Case 08: University of British Colombia

Case 09: Concordia University

Case 10: Queen’s University (1st place winners)

Case 11: Glendon College

Case 12: University of Alberta

2024 Sponsors