National Student and Thought Leadership Awards 2020: call for nominations

October 8, 2020


Dear Directors of CAPPA Member Programs:


The National Student and Thought Leadership Awards in Public Administration, a joint initiative of the Canadian Association of Programs in Public Administration (CAPPA) and the Institute of Public Administration of Canada (IPAC), aims to recognize talent in Canadian public administration and policy programs at the regional and national levels. It highlights excellence in public administration and showcases the top talent emerging from Canadian programs each year.  Because COVID-19 resulted in the postponement of the IPAC National Conference (and this awards process), this competition recognizes outstanding students from the 2019-20 academic year.

Criteria and Procedures

1.  Selecting winners:

CAPPA members will solicit and judge entries (best paper, best professional report, or best graduating student, however defined) from their students, and select a winner in the undergraduate and/or graduate levels (as applicable to each department). Representatives from the IPAC regional group may be asked to help with the adjudication. Together, the students selected from each institution are the National Student Leadership Award winners.

2.  Giving local recognition:

We encourage programs, departments and schools to hold recognition events for the winners. You may also want to approach your local IPAC group to provide recognition. In some cases the local regional group may have more than one university in their catchment area, and the range of winners will be broader.

3.  National recognition on web sites:

Winners will be celebrated by IPAC and CAPPA on their respective websites. The names, contact information, brief bios, and synopsis of the accomplishment of the winners should be forwarded to CAPPA at the contact point noted below. The deadline for receiving these packages has been extended to October 23, 2020. 

4.  The 72nd Annual IPAC National Conference, November 16-18 2020 (Virtual):

We look forward to receiving notification of your top students by October 23, 2020. 

For each nomination, please include:

Please forward all nominations to If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Belle Young at or Andrea Rounce at or 1-204-891-0501.

Brooke Jeffrey


Canadian Association of Programs in Public Administration

Suzanne Patterson

Chief Executive Officer

Institute of Public Administration of Canada